March, Book 3 Breaks Records with Four Wins at ALA Mid-Winter Award Ceremony

In November 2016, history was made when the graphic novel March, Book Three (9781603094023, $19.99) was awarded the National Book Award. While graphic novels have been nominated for the award in the past, March, Book Three became the first graphic novel to win this prestigious award. Since this historic win, the graphic novel instantly became a best-seller among librarians, educators, and readers of all kinds. Soon after winning the National Book Award, March, Book Three was also award the Walter - an award given by the We Need Diverse Books committee for titles that represent diversity.

Now, Congressman John Lewis, co-author Andrew Aydin, and illustrator Nate Powell have been given three more awards for their nationally acclaimed graphic novel: the Printz Award, the Seibert Medal, the Excellence in Young Adult Nonfiction Award, and the Coretta Scott King Book Award. These awards are given out annually by the American Library Association (ALA) during their Mid-Winter Conference (for more information on each award, see below). Congressman Lewis accepted the YALSA Nonfiction Award on behalf of the three creators yesterday at the ALA Midwinter Conference in Atlanta. The King, Printz, and Sibert Awards will be handed out in ceremonies at the ALA Annual Conference in June.

"I'm delighted and honored that America's librarians are supporting March with these awards," said Congressman Lewis according to Top Shelf Productions. "I love books and I love librarians. When I was growing up I tried to read every single thing I could. I hope these awards will help inspire all of our young people — and some of us not so young — to read, to learn, and to act. March is a guidebook reminding us that we all must speak up and stand up for what is right, what is fair, and what is just."

March, Book Three is the stunning conclusion of the award-winning and best-selling March Trilogy published by Top Shelf Productions. By the fall of 1963, the Civil Rights Movement has penetrated deep into the American consciousness, and as chairman of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), John Lewis is guiding the tip of the spear. Through relentless direct action, SNCC continues to force the nation to confront its own blatant injustice, but for every step forward, the danger grows more intense: Jim Crow strikes back through legal tricks, intimidation, violence, and death. The only hope for lasting change is to give voice to the millions of Americans silenced by voter suppression: “One Man, One Vote.” With these new struggles come new allies, new opponents, and an unpredictable new president who might be both at once. But fractures within the movement are deepening ... even as 25-year-old John Lewis prepares to risk everything in a historic showdown high above the Alabama river, in a town called Selma.

  • Printz Award | The Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based on its literary merit, each year. In addition, the Printz Committee names up to four honor books, which also represent the best writing in young adult literature.
  • Seibert Medal | The Sibert Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year. 
  • Excellence in YA Nonfiction | YALSA's Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a Nov. 1 – Oct. 31 publishing year. 
  • Coretta Scott King Book Award | The Coretta Scott King Book Award is given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.