Harvey Awards Announces 2018 Winners

The Harvey Awards revealed its 2018 winners at a gala marking the 30th anniversary of the prestigious comic book awards show and a return to New York City. After revising the award categories and voting procedures this year, the categories that were honored tonight are Book of the Year, Digital Book of the Year, Best Children or Young Adult Book, Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic Novel, Best Manga and Best European Book. The Harvey Award winners for 2018 are:

  • Book of the Year: Monstress by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image) 
  • Digital Book of the Year – Barrier by Brian K. Vaughn, Marcos Martin and Muntsa Vicente (Panel Syndicate)
  • Best Children or Young Adult Book: Tie between The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang (First Second) and The Tea Dragon Society, by Katie O’Neill (Oni Press)
  • Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic NovelBlack Panther (Walt Disney Pictures) - Directed by Ryan Coogler. Adapted from "Black Panther" (Marvel Comics)
  • Best MangaMy Lesbian Experience with Loneliness by Nagata Kabi (Seven Seas)
  • Best European BookCalifornia Dreamin': Cass Elliot Before the Mamas & The Papas by Pénélope Bagieu (First Second)

The Harvey Awards Steering Committee, which oversees the rules, procedures, and categories for the awards, is co-chaired by Nellie Kurtzman, John Lind, and Chip Mosher. The Harvey Awards Nomination Committee for 2018 was comprised of participants including numerous award-winning creators, librarians, and editors. Their selections established the nominees for the six categories included on the ballots, which were then open to voting from all qualified professionals involved in the publishing industry.

"On behalf of the Kurtzman family and all of us involved in the awards, I'd like to congratulate all the nominees and winners of this year's Harvey Awards—and give a sincere thank you to our emcee, Calvin Reid of Publishers Weekly, and all of the presenters who participated! It was a terrific first full event at New York Comic Con, and we're already looking ahead to next year!" said Nellie Kurtzman, co-chair of the Harvey Awards Steering Committee.

In addition to revealing the award winners, this evening the Harvey Awards inducted Dave Gibbons (Watchmen) and Roz Chast (The New Yorker) into the Hall of Fame for their respective storied careers. Renowned Manga artist Harold Sakuishi (BECK) received the International Spotlight Award and Jackie Estrada won the inaugural Comics Industry Pioneer honor for her work spanning decades in the industry.

"Tonight was a very special evening. To be inducted into the Harvey Awards Hall of Fame alongside such a luminary as Roz is a huge honor,” said Dave Gibbons. “The diverse list of winners and the work on offer is a testament to the strength of our industry."

“I am honored to enter the Harvey Awards Hall of Fame with an amazing peer like Dave,” said Roz Chast. “It's also terrific to meet some of the other winners tonight. The diversity of talent shows how the industry is evolving to reflect all viewpoints, regardless of gender and color."

“The Harvey Awards are among the pinnacle of the comic book industry and ReedPOP is thrilled to present this showcase which honors the best that this medium has to offer,” said Lance Fensterman, Global President of ReedPOP.

The Harvey Awards honors achievement in comic books across a variety of categories and represents one of the industry’s longest-running annual events. Named after Harvey Kurtzman (1924–1993), the influential cartooning genius who is best remembered for creating MAD.

For more information about Harvey Kurtzman and the Harvey Awards, please visit harveyawards.com and the Harvey Awards Facebook and Twitter pages.