Quantcast

Second Annual Comic Conference for Educators & Librarians to Take Place During San Diego Comic Con

Comic-Con International and San Diego Public Library have teamed up for their second annual Comic Conference for Educators and Librarians (CCEL). This free five day conference takes place during San Diego Comic-Con and explores the role of comics in promoting education and literacy for all ages. Library professionals and educators are invited to learn creative and exciting ways to incorporate comics and graphic novels into their classroom and communities through presentations and panel discussions. 

The conference is free to attend, but registration is requried for each day due to limited space. For more information on registration, click here. For a list of panels being held during the conference, see below.


10 a.m. -- Creators, Libraries, and Literacy

Description: Meet some of your favorite comic creators in a discussion about why librarians and libraries are important to them. Featuring Raina Telgemeier, Jenni and Matt Holm, Molly Ostertag, Zander Cannon, Mike Lawrence

Moderator: Candice Mack (Los Angeles Public Library)

11 a.m. | Picture Books for Grown-ups: Why Graphic Novels Matter to Adults

Description: Why should your library invest in an adult graphic novel collection? This panel will discuss the benefits of adult graphic novel collections to the library and community, give tips on how to justify these collections to library management and stakeholders, and explain the value of graphic novels in academic libraries. The session will also review the differences between adult and teen materials, provide guidance for creating a diverse and well-balanced collection, and share how graphic novels are used with adult learners to develop critical reading and writing skills.

Panelists: Monica Barrette (Escondido Public Library), Matthew Murray (University of Nevada, Las Vegas Libraries), Lalitha Nataraj (Escondido Public Library), Steven Torres-Roman (San Diego Public Library)

12 p.m. | Read-alikes: What to Suggest When Patrons Already Read Smile and The Walking Dead

Description: Read-alikes can be a librarians best friend. In this session, panelists will help participants by sharing their experience recommending titles to patrons who have finished reading the most popular graphic novels, like Smile, Persepolis, American Born Chinese, and Deadpool. Panelist will also share their knowledge about upcoming comics, recent genre trends, and pop culture that tie in with comics.

Panelists: Angela Ocana, Kelly Quinn Chiu (Santa Clara City Library), Matthew Murray (University of Nevada, Las Vegas Libraries),  Ben Neal (Portsmouth Public Library), Jenny McCluskey (Ingram Library Services), and Anna Ferri, Steven Torres-Roman (Teen Librarian, San Diego Public Library)

1 p.m. | Young Adult Graphic Novel and Manga Collection Essentials: What Titles Every Library Should Carry

Description: In this panel discussion, librarians will share their compiled knowledge on the best new and classic graphic novel and manga titles essential for any library's young adult collection. We will be discussing current trends in graphic novel publishing as it relates to greater diversity within the genre, as well as discussing how to utilize individual comic book issues and webcomic selections in your collection. We will cover how to use graphic novels and manga as a way of supporting Common Core curriculum and as a method of encouraging hi-lo readers. We will also have a segment on crossover appeal: how to get your comic book reading patrons to like manga and vice versa. We conclude with some of our most anticipated graphic novels, comics, and manga for the rest of 2017 and the start of 2018.

Panelists: Loren Spector (Young Adult Librarian III, Memorial Library), Marissa Thompson (Young Adult Librarian, North Hollywood Library), Jennifer Siron (Young Adult Librarian, Chatsworth Library), Danica Sheridan (Young Adult Librarian, Silver Lake Library), Angela Ocana (Santa Clara City Library), and Kelly Quinn Chiu (Santa Clara City Library), Steven Torres-Roman (San Diego Public Library)

2 p.m. | Diversity in Comics: A Librarian’s Perspective

Description: We often hear about the importance of diversity in comics from the point of view of creators, but what about the librarians who provide access to them? How do library professionals face diversity and inclusionor their lack thereofin their comic collection development and programming? How can we better support the movement for more diverse and inclusive comics?

Panelists: Candice Mack, Erwin Magbanua, Lalitha Nataraj (Escondido Public Library), Lisa Valdez (Outreach Librarian, Pierce Community College)

3 p.m. | Graphic Novel and Manga Programming for Tweens and Teens in our Diverse Communities for Any Budget

Description: Representing a vast geographical spread and diverse communities, librarians from Los Angeles Public Library will share our experiences with programmingpresenting and promoting graphic novel and manga contentutilizing partnerships and free local resources. The audience will learn about hosting Free Comic Book Day as a library event or at any time during the year. Great programming ideas for tweens and teens include anime screenings, author talks, character visits, free giveaways and fun graphic novel/manga related craftsfrom button making to decoupage. We will give tips on how to make your programs and events a success and show examples from our programs, flyers and displays.

Panelists: Corinda Humphrey (Young Adult Librarian III, Vernon Branch), Marissa Thompson (Young Adult Librarian, North Hollywood Branch), Loren Spector (Young Adult Librarian III, Memorial Branch), Jennifer Siron (Young Adult Librarian, Chatsworth), and Danica Sheridan (Young Adult Librarian, Silver Lake Branch)

4 p.m. | Library Comic-Cons: Welcoming Deadpool into your Library

Description: Library cons are all the rage! If your library is planning to hosting its own “Library-Con” this panel will share best practices from libraries that have made a splash with library cons in their communities. Panelists will also discuss ideas and programs that didn’t work, and what they learned in the process. From taking over an 80,000 square foot building and filling it full of superheroes to spending an entire month celebrating the arts, any con is awesome.

Panelists: Angela Ocana (Santa Clara City Library), Kelly Quinn Chiu (Santa Clara City Library), John Schlosser (Santa Clara City Library), Katherine Keller (UNLV, CBLDF, VVCBF),Lisa Valdez, Outreach Librarian, Pierce Community College; Darren Heiber, Community Services Librarian, (San Mateo County Libraries)

5 p.m. | How to judge what is appropriate in comics: What does T for teen really mean?  

Description: Cataloging and collection development practices for comic books, especially when it comes to age-ranges and placement, can make librarians want to tear their hair out. In this session, the discussion will focus on understanding the content that justifies the labels of middle grade, young adult or adult. It will also address the question of “Does “T” really mean for teen?” The participating panelists have dealt with the most inappropriate content and will provide their  insight on how to manage a series that starts in young adult and ends R-rated. Additionally, because comics are targets for censorship, this session will also review how librarians can handle challenges to material and banned books, and continue to fulfill the American Library Association’s statement on Access to Library Resources and Services to Minors.

Panelists: Angela Ocana (Santa Clara City Library), Kelly Quinn Chiu (Santa Clara City Library), Jenny McCluskey (Ingram Library Services), and Ben Neal (Portsmouth Public Library), Steven Torres-Roman (Teen Librarian, San Diego Public Library)