Quantcast

Recommended Titles for Adults (Age 18+)
Superior

Superior
By Mark Millar and Leinil Francis Yu
Marvel Comics - $19.99
ISBN: 978-0-78515-317-7
Release Date: 3/20/13

Twelve-year-old Simon Pooni was a normal kid with a great life, until multiple sclerosis hit. He lost the ability to walk, went blind in one eye and sometimes could barely speak. Every night, Simon would pray his multiple sclerosis somehow would go away. "Somehow" turned out to be a magic monkey named Orman, who granted Simon one wish. And with that, Simon stood transformed into a real-life version of Superior, the legendary comic-book hero. Simon spent one glorious week saving those in need, averting natural disasters - becoming the most-beloved man on the planet. But Orman ominously cautioned Simon all would be explained in one week. Will Simon be forced to go back to life in a wheelchair after being the world's greatest hero? Faced with adversity, will he prove himself to truly be...Superior?


Husbands

Husbands
By Jane Espenson, Brad Bell, Ron Chan, and Various

Dark Horse Comics - $14.99
ISBN: 978-1-61655-130-8
Release Date: 3/27/13

Written by Husbands creators Jane Espenson (Buffy the Vampire Slayer) and Brad Bell, this is the comic-book continuation of the online sitcom phenom. Husbands tells the story of famous gay newlyweds Brady and Cheeks, who sparked a media firestorm when they woke up legally wed after a drunken Vegas weekend. Now, a mystical wedding gift launches the couple on a series of adventures-a tongue-in-cheek journey through iconic genre realms-filled with obstacles that threaten to tear them apart. Follow Brady and Cheeks into a superhero showdown, a fairytale fantasy, a Holmesian mystery, an epic galactic battle, a madcap high school romp, and a saucy secret-spy thrill ride. Includes bonus "making of" material and a special introduction.


How to Fake a Moon Landing

How to Fake a Moon Landing: Exposing the Myths of Science Denial
By Darryl Cunningham
Abrams ComicArts - $16.95
ISBN: 978-1-41970-689-9
Release Date: 4/3/13

Is climate change real? Evolution: Fact or fiction? Was the moon landing a hoax? Does homeopathy work?  Is hydro-fracking really safe? In How to Fake a Moon Landing Darryl Cunningham takes on these and other hot-button topics by using critical thinking to illustrate that facts really do matter, revealing the manipulation, by both the left and the right, of documented information. Cunningham's easy-to-follow narrative allows readers to draw their own conclusions as he presents his research and sources via comic book storytelling.


Mumbai Confidential Vol. 1

Mumbai Confidentail Book 1: Good Cop, Bad Cop
By Saurav Mohapatra, Vivek Shinde, and Various
Archaia Entertainment - $24.95
ISBN: 978-1-936393-65-7
Release Date: 4/17/13

Five years ago, Arjun Kadam used to be a cop, a rising star in the ranks of the Mumbai Encounter Squad — an elite unit tasked by the powers-that-be to carry out extrajudicial executions of notorious gangsters. But the death of his pregnant wife at childbirth derailed his life and set him off on a spiral of depression and drug addiction, a pale shadow of his former self. When Kadam is the victim of a hit-and-run that also claims the life of a street urchin, he goes into coma for a month. Upon awakening, he finds a new sense of purpose and pursues the investigation, taking him on a journey through the deep, dark heart of Mumbai — from the glitzy tinsel of Bollywood, to the dank depths of the Mumbai Underworld, where the line between the police and the criminals has been blurred beyond recognition by his ex-colleagues on the Encounter Squad, who are now de-facto gangsters in uniform, running the very same extortion rackets they were tasked to eradicate. Obsessed with his mission, Kadam sets off a desperate gambit of deadly intrigue and deception that pits him against the very machine of violence and corruption he once helped create.



Pepita: Inoue Meets Gaudi

Pepita: Inoue Meets Gaudi
By Takehiko Inoue

Viz - $19.99
ISBN: 978-1-42155-274-3
Release Date: 4/17/13

Takehiko Inoue (Vagabond, Slam Dunk, Real) is one of Japan's leading manga artists, and he has long been obsessed with the architecture of Antoni Gaudi. Pepita is a travel memoir about Inoue's travels to Catalan, the people he meets, and the stunning architecture he experiences. It's also an art book, constructed and framed by a leading practitioner of Japanese comics.


Happy!

Happy!
By Grant Morrison and Darick Robertson
Image Comics - $12.99
ISBN: 978-1-60706-677-4
Release Date: 4/17/13

Meet Nick Sax - a corrupt, intoxicated ex-cop turned hit-man, adrift in a stinking twilight world of casual murder, soulless sex, eczema and betrayal. With a hit gone wrong, a bullet in his side, the cops and the mob on his tail, and a monstrous child killer in a Santa suit on the loose, Nick and his world will be changed forever this Christmas.


The End

The End
By Anders Nilsen

Fantagraphics Books - $19.99
ISBN: 978-1-60699-635-5
Release Date: 4/24/13

Assembled from work done in Anders Nilsen's sketchbooks over the course of the year following the death of his fiancée (as chronicled in Nilsen's Don't Go Where I Can't Follow), The End is a collection of short strips about loss, paralysis, waiting and transformation. Originally released in magazine form, The End has been updated and expanded to more than twice its original length, including a 16-page full-color section.


New School

New School
By Dash Shaw
Fantagraphics Books - $19.99
ISBN: 978-1-60699-644-7
Release Date: 4/24/13

In this brand new graphic novel from the acclaimed author of Bottomless Belly Button and BodyWorld, Dash Shaw dramatizes the story of a boy moving to an exotic country and his infatuation with an unfamiliar culture that quickly shifts to disillusionment. A sense of "being different" grows to alienation, until he angrily blames this once-enchanting land for his feelings of isolation.
All of this is told through the fantastical eyes of young Danny, a boy growing up in the '90s fed on dramatic adventure stories like Jurassic Park and X-Men. Danny's older brother, Luke, travels to a remote island to teach English to the employees of ClockWorld, an ambitious new amusement park that recreates historical events. When Luke doesn't return after two years, Danny travels to ClockWorld to convince Luke to return to America. But Luke has made a new life, new family, and even a new personality for himself on ClockWorld, rendering him almost unrecognizable to his own brother. Danny comes of age as he explores the island, ClockWorld, and fights to bring his brother home.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Vol. 2

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Vol. 2
By Stieg Larsson, Denise Mina, Leonardo Manco, and Andrea Mutti

DC Comics/Vertigo - $19.99
ISBN: 978-1-40123-558-1
Release Date: 5/1/13

Vertigo presents the concluding volume of the official graphic novel adaptation of Stieg Larsson's hit thriller. In Book 2, the mystery of Harriet Vanger's disappearance deepens as crusading journalist Mikael Blomkvist and the indomitable Lisbeth Salander join forces to crack the decades-old case. Together they uncover a twisted secret that may end up costing them their lives.

Great Pacific Vol. 1

Great Pacific Vol. 1: Trashed
By Joe Harris and Martin Morazzo

Image Comics - $9.99
ISBN: 978-1-60706-684-2
Release Date: 5/1/13

When fugitive oil heir Chas Worthington settles the infamous Great Pacific Garbage Patch and declares it his own sovereign nation, the reality of the environmental catastrophe is only the beginning of his odyssey. Collects the first arc of this breakout hit series - a sprawling adventure across earth's newest, strangest frontier!


Raven Girl

Raven Girl
By Audrey Niffenegger

Abrams ComicArts - $19.95
ISBN: 978-1-41970-726-1
Release Date: 5/8/13

Once there was a Postman who fell in love with a Raven. So begins the tale of a postman who encounters a fledgling raven while on the edge of his route and decides to bring her home. The unlikely couple falls in love and conceives a child - an extraordinary raven girl trapped in a human body. The raven girl feels imprisoned by her arms and legs and covets wings and the ability to fly. Betwixt and between, she reluctantly grows into a young woman, until one day she meets an unorthodox doctor who is willing to change her.

Fran

Fran
By Jim Woodring

Fantagraphics Books - $19.99
ISBN: 978-1-60699-661-4
Release Date: 5/29/13

For the past 20 years or so, Jim Woodring's beloved trilobular chuckbuster Frank has enjoyed one mindbending catastrophe after another in the treacherous embrace of The Unifactor, the land into which he was born and from which escape seemed neither desirable nor likely. And then, abruptly, in 2011's acclaimed Congress of the Animals (the second Woodring orginal graphic novel, following Weathercraft) Frank did leave the Unifactor for uncharted lands beyond-where, after a string of trials, he acquired a soulmate named Fran.
This development raised far more questions than it answered. Would Frank become placid and domesticated? Would he be jilted? Would he turn out to be a dreadful cad? Would he become a downtrodden and exhausted paterfamilias staring vacantly into the dimming fire of life as obnoxious grandchildren pulled his peglike ears and stole his porridge?
The answers to these fruitless speculations and many more are delivered in a devastatingly unpredictable fashion in Fran, which is in effect part two of Congress of the Animals. Ideal for fans of Frank, connoisseurs of bizarre romance, and spelunkers in the radiant depths of graphic metaphysical psychodrama.

We Can Fix It!

We Can Fix It! A Time Travel Memoir
By Jess Fink
Top Shelf Productions - $14.95
ISBN: 978-1-60309-065-0
Release Date: 5/29/13

What would you do if you had a time machine? Bet on sporting events? Assassinate all the evildoers of history? Or maybe try to fix all the mistakes and regrets that have haunted you all these years? Join Jess as she travels back in time to share her wisdom with her naive younger self, stand up to bullies who terrorized her child self, and teach her horny teenage self a thing or two! What begins as a raunchy adventure in teen wish fulfillment grows into a thoughtful story about memory, regret, and growing up. One time machine, one frustrated girl, one sexy futuristic jumpsuit... infinite possibilities!


The From Hell Companion

The From Hell Companion
By Alan Moore and Eddie Campbell

Top Shelf Productions - $29.95
ISBN: 978-1-60309-303-3
Release Date: 5/29/13

From Hell occupies a monumental place in the history of the graphic novel: a Victorian masterpiece of murder and madness which has won numerous awards, spawned a major film, and remained a favorite of readers around the world for over two decades. Now, Top Shelf Productions and Knockabout Comics present The From Hell Companion, a selection of Alan Moore's original scripts and sketches for the landmark graphic novel, with copious annotations, commentary, and illustrations by Eddie Campbell. Here for the first time are a set of pages which have never been seen by anyone except Moore's collaborator. Joining them are Campbell's first-hand accounts of the project's decade-long development, complete with photos, anecdotes, disagreements, and wry confessions.


Walrus

Walrus
By Brandon Graham

Picturebox - $19.95
ISBN: 978-0-98515-959-7
Release Date: 5/29/13

Beloved for his graffiti-inflected science fiction comics, Brandon Graham has developed a punning, humorous and sexy universe of machines, logos, women, and bumbling men, all cast in an alternate Sci-Fi universe. Walrus, Graham's first art book, collects drawings and sketchbook comics spanning 2009-2012, and allows readers a glimpse into his creative process and obsessions. Here we glimpse everything from the puttering pace of domestic life to high energy drawing riffs to homages to cult comic book characters.