Jack Kirby's Fourth World Omnibus Vol. 4

by Jack Kirby

Publisher: DC Comics

Format: Hardcover, full color, $49.99

ISBN: 978-1-40121-485-2

Reviewed by: Library Journal

After leaving Marvel Comics, where he cocreated the Fantastic Four, the X-Men, and other famous characters, comics giant Kirby moved to DC in 1970 with a plan for a cosmic-scale epic. Through four different series — The New Gods, The Forever People, Mister Miracle, and Jimmy Olsen  —Kirby explored the titanic struggle between the utopian world New Genesis and the dystopian Apokalips. Their main battleground is Earth, where Apokalips's tyrant Darkseid ransacks human minds for the Anti-Life Equation, which can negate all free will. This third of four full-color volumes chronologically presenting all of Kirby's Fourth World work contains several of the saga's highlights, including its linchpin, "The Pact," which tells the origins of New Genesis's tormented hero Orion and the super-escape artist Mister Miracle. Kirby's imagination is immensely fertile, with each story introducing vivid characters and expansive concepts. His best artwork here is astonishingly powerful and his larger-than-life storytelling achieves mythic resonance. Sadly, Kirby's saga was never completed as he had envisioned. But it's still a hugely entertaining and compelling landmark and remains essential for students of comics history, fans of epic fantasy (superheroic or otherwise), and anyone wishing to see a master at peak performance. Highly recommended for all collections. – Steve Raiteri